top of page

5 years & 20,000 miles


Fidget and Neon

Meet Explorers Bethany Hughes and Lauren Reed, or Fidgit and Neon. These two incredible women took off on a 20,000 mile expedition, Her Odyssey, on November 23, 2015. Their goal? To hike from America to America, completely by non-motorized means: hiking the mountain ranges and rafting or pedaling the flatlands. Their mission? Immerse themselves in the local cultures and tell the stories of empowered women and enlightened men.

Not only does this adventure test their own determination and drive, but challenge social norms of women in backcountry and hiking. Her Odyssey emphasizes the progress in the uphill battle toward equal rights, particularly throughout machista cultures in Latin America.

"We see a growing movement of women across the globe standing up and stepping forward. From workplace to personal life; in agriculture, art, sciences, adventure sports, the list goes on. It is our belief that by each pursuing her dream and passion, we forge a more equal playing field. Our chosen field is long-distance hiking."

Heard that!

By the way, they have a pretty impressive resume.

Bethany Hughes (Fidgit)

Accomplishments:

• 2007 Pembrokeshire Coast Path, Wales

• 2008 West Highland Way, Scotland

• 2010 Pacific Crest Trail

• 2012 Colorado Trail

• 2014 Tamang Heritage Trail, Nepal

Lauren Reed (Neon) - Triple Crown Hiker

Accomplishments:

• 2008 Appalachian Trail

• 2010 Pacific Crest Trail

• 2013 Continental Divide Trail

• 2012 Colorado Trail

They met while independently hiking the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT for you Wild fans) in 2010 and kept in touch to ski, hike, and backpack a couple times a year. When Bethany began her planning for this trip, she was a lone hiker.

"I had planned to start this by myself in 2014 but due to tearing my ACL and ensuing medical bills, had to delay my departure by a year. Which turned out to be a blessing on a lot of fronts, one of the largest being it gave her (Lauren) time to think about it and decide to join the trek!" - Bethany

“I was drawn to Bethany’s original idea of this trek for many reasons, the biggest one being I enjoy challenging myself- I’ve worked with troubled youth in the wilds of Utah, I’ve hiked across the US 3 times, what would be next? Walking across continents, of course! I can’t remember the last time I was challenged so intensely, it’s been an amazing opportunity for self-growth.” - Lauren

We had a few questions for these ladies, so we reached out to ask about their journey so far. With the wifi gods in our favor, we were able to connect with Fidget and Neon just as they reached the Tropic of Capricorn! Check out the full interview below

 

What has fueled your drive for this adventure? - What is still inspiring both of you to continue?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"I see myself as a bridge. Raised multi-cultural and bi-lingual, I have had the opportunity to hear a broad variety of insights, which has informed a rounded perspective. I believe women around the globe, in conjunction with forward thinking men, are moving toward recognizing their own power and a more balanced social scale. I want to tell that story.

Walking to learn the stories of women along the Americas slows me down enough to digest their wisdom and, hopefully, share it with integrity and in a way true to each of them.

This journey came to me as a calling, it was a matter of submitting to that internal voice. I do not see this as courage, so much as vulnerability.

I am inspired to continue by the act of sharing. I draw great strength from the kindness of those who contribute to the journey; such as, the teenage girls who walked me through their town and helped me find a place to sleep safely, the women who courageously share their stories, and those who help support us financially and emotionally from home."

Lauren (Neon)

"It's tough to say what has fueled me, though I believe at the base of my want for adventure is a desire to continue pushing myself to grow and learn as a person throughout my life.

I don't know that I see this as a courageous thing, so it is hard to answer that question. I've had to think way back (at least 10 years) in my life to remember when/how I first obtained the courage to begin exploring the outdoors more in depth. I remember different friends and family members taking me into the outdoors, and it just evolved from there to where I am today- I can't imagine a life without adventure!

I find many things in my life, and the lives of others, inspiring. I think that, in the depth of their soul, every human wants to be a part of something bigger than themselves. I see this as my 'something bigger'. I am inspired by others who in turn are inspired by me."

Having an idea about how taxing this journey has been so far, were there any thoughts of failure? - How did y’all overcome these thoughts?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"I've never considered failing, though I have wondered if I have what it takes to complete the journey, Failure is a frame of mind and each step north takes me further from that. Sometimes my goal is as big as the next country, the next city, the next camp, or on the though days, just that next step.

I rarely think about arriving at the Arctic Ocean. That is too far off, it seems impossible. I focus on smaller, immediate goals."

Lauren (Neon)

"Any thoughts of failure? Sure. Any actual movement towards giving up/accepting failure as an option? Definitely not.

Overcoming negative self-talk is something I've taught working as a Wilderness Therapy Guide, so I at least feel I have a grasp on how to overcome it. It is still a tough process that each individual has to figure out how to do on their own, it is based on perspective for me. What works best for me is focusing on the positive, i.e. when it's dumping rain and cold and windy, at least your rain jacket is mostly waterproof and if you keep moving you'll be able to feel your fingers; or when it's so hot and the nearest shade is miles away while you're walking along a lake at least you have enough water to drink, etc."

Do you think you could’ve done it without each other?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"A year into the journey we are so deep into the work of the relationship and commitment to the walk that there isn't much power in thinking about what ifs.

That said, I was not looking forward to doing this alone and in the planning stages had kind of thrown it up in my faith journey that if I was truly meant to accomplish this hike, someone would join. I am incredulous and beyond grateful that a woman of such fortitude, who is so different than myself saw merit where others saw madness and stepped out on the trail with me."

Lauren (Neon)

"Could've done it? Yes. Would have wanted to do it? Probably not in the same way. I learn something from Bethany nearly every day, and I can't imagine a better travel partner at this moment."

Do you think being a women has been a strength or weakness?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"I choose to see it as a strength. People are more open and trusting with us which really helps with the story telling aspects."

Lauren (Neon)

"Both. I believe in the machismo society we have found ourselves in down here, being a woman can be helpful when you approach other women or want information because people seem more willing to help you, to the extent of allowing space for us to sleep indoors on rainy nights or giving us extra food to make sure we are eating enough. On the other hand, we have been approached and cat-called by men, told we couldn't do what we are doing, and ignored on many occasions as well."

What has been the hardest obstacle to overcome so far?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"Communication and balance. Communication within the team and with people of very different backgrounds and in a second language.

Balancing the walking with investing in relationships with self care. It's a moving target."

Lauren (Neon)

"Hmmm, I would have to say the most trying struggle along the way is balance. Bethany and I talk about balance as though it is a pendulum- swinging to one side and then the other, before coming to rest in the middle. My many pendulums of balance are not usually resting in the middle, haha."

Has there been a favorite experience yet?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"This is an impossible question. The answer lies somewhere between hours of conversations around family dinner tables and sitting on a high sunny ridge, watching 2 condors circling on a draft below us and realizing they were the only other companions we had met in several days."

Lauren (Neon)

"Impossible to answer. Waking up on beautiful mornings and watching the sun rise over many different landscapes while still snug in my sleeping bag is the closest I can come to even nearing a single favorite experience. Meeting and being welcomed in by so many people along the way willing to share their space and stories with us would be a close second."

Who has impacted your journey? Did they evolve or change your personal perspectives and philosophies?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"Every person who has been genuine and engaged in this journey has impacted me.

One of my greatest strengths and weaknesses is my penchant for absorbing other people's thinking. I walk away from conversations seeing things the way they do. Then I unpack that perspective as I walk.

A major evolution I see in myself is developing patience, for myself and others. Even learning to be patient with my own impatience. Learning to trust the flow of life, to ask for what I need, to be clear, to leave space for different interpretations; I could go on and on!"

Lauren (Neon)

"Speaking with so many different people has opened my eyes to the many differences in this world, though it has also opened my eyes to the many similarities. I would say everyone I have interacted with has encouraged my evolution as a human being, whether their impact be positive, negative, or somewhere in between."

What has been y’alls happiest and most blissful moment so far?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"It is the little things.

The simple things. Cuddling a friendly puppy, taking my shoes off at the end of a long day, cooking rice just right, getting into my sleeping bag. A really powerful one is when I pause while walking and look back at the ground we have covered, those moments are ethereal."

Lauren (Neon)

"Realizing over and over that this journey isn't about me- I get excited when others 'get it' and are excited about our trip too."

What do you hope becomes of your experiences?

Bethany (Fidgit)

My goal will continue to be to share. To encourage awareness that we have more in common than different and that differences needn't be a source of fear, rather wonder.

Writing is one of my major mediums and I aspire to the opportunity to put this journey into words to inspire peers and future generations of explorers to see others with compassion and as equals."

Lauren (Neon)

"To be honest, my goal right now is to complete this trip, perhaps as we get closer to the end in a couple of years, I'll have an answer for you about the 'after'.

I hope that our experiences continue to encourage others to pursue their own passions."

Do you have any advice for women looking for the courage to dive into something out of their comfort zone?

Bethany (Fidgit)

"Be patient with yourself.

Do not let fear dictate your choices. Fear of failure is a reason many dreams don't get a chance.

One of my favorite quotes, which I learned from my mother, is from Lady Julian of Norwich, ‘First there is the fall, and then there is the recovery from the fall. But both are the mercy of God.’"

Lauren (Neon)

"The first step is the hardest. After that, momentum carries you forward. I know it sounds simple and isn't, but that's my advice."

 

Fidgit and Neon, you are FEARLESSLY FORGED and are hereby inducted into the #nbgirlgang. We cannot wait to see where you ladies go next and who you find along the way.

Help these ladies reach their goal by donating what you can! Just click here for their GoFundMe campaign!

Continue to follow these two on their trek from Patagonia to Alaska by:

Reading their blog on their website here

Liking their Page on Facebook and staying updated while they make their way north here

Following them on Instagram and see their adventure through their stunning pictures here

Check out their stories from the road! The “Herstory Series” illuminates the experience of women who live in pursuit of their own highest self and are willing to share that adventure. The “Story Time” series relates folklore and local legends which inform cultural perspectives and values.

FORGE ON!


bottom of page